Intersecting and Patterning Wood: The FINAL Products

The two terms I selected to transform my wooden blocks into were intersect and pattern.  After selecting the drill press and band saw, my process began with sketching while keeping my tools’ capabilities in mind.  After figuring out which concepts would work and which would not, I transferred to the band saw to create my pattern piece.  First, I carefully cut the block in to a line work pattern that appears as though if it were to continue, the pattern would remain constant.  Next, to create the main repetition I drilled small holes evenly spaced apart throughout the chunk.  With the movement-like quality of the cuts, the drilled pattern appears as though it is in motion, traveling along the pine. After sanding and completing the pattern transformation, I began to work on the concept of intersecting. While the initial steps of sketching were the same, I thought for this piece it would be best to physically draw out where I would be cutting on the wood. After doing so, I cut the block in to a cross to depict the standard concept of intersection.  To add more complexity, I then cut even more crosses out off the wood to really enhance this idea of intersecting.  Lastly, I used two different grits of sandpapers to smoothen everything out and then photographed both works in front of a white background to contrast with the grain of the wood and to display their beautiful cast shadows.

Leave a Reply

